The Pinterest Adventure

Are you a Pinterest user? Do you Pin for the Win!? I have been a fair user of Pinterest since 2011. Many of my ideas, resources and hobby loves are on Pinterest (and Educlipper). Most recently, Pinterest introduced Lens BETA on the mobile app. Well, this came at the perfect time for me. I finally got new carpeting in our family room (The previous one was awful), thanks to my in-laws. The Pinterest Lens went live in the App store about an hour before our carpet layer came in. I started flashing the lens at various spots in my clutter house and I couldn’t believe the searches and finds that Lens could do and I knew I had to find a way to integrate this into the classroom. So how does it work?

  1. Open the app, and open the search bar (magnifying glass) and tap on the camera icon.
  2. Point Lens at something (toys, walls, books, ect).
  3. Tap the find related ideas that pop up in the search.

    Have something on your camera roll you want to find a great lesson for or do something innovative in the classroom or with your students? You can also upload a picture to the Lens feature in Pinterest too and get a great search. I did one with my Ozobots.

    So, how could students use this?

     

    1. For Genius Hour, have students take a snap of something they want to know more about or spark a great idea for a project.

2. Want to engage reluctant readers with a book? Have them take a snap on a book they enjoy and see what search book suggestions come up or projects they can do about their favorite story?

3. Want to learn more about an organ biology or if you learning about nutrition in Health/PE, give it snapp and create a presentation around it.

There are many ways to use the Lens feature and this is just the early stages of it. Give it a try today.

Leave a Reply

