My Black Friday Tech Wish List

christmaswishlist

I know, you are probably reading the headline and saying: “Don’t you mean Christmas Wish List”? Kind of, but for the last few years, I have always seen great sales for items I would love to have for my students and classroom and eventually, they find themselves to my students (sadly not by Christmas). So, being the #STEAM teacher and trying to transition my students to STREAM (science, technology, reading, engineering, art and mathematics). I came up with a great wish list this year.

  1. screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-8-27-02-amOzobot: While I’ve been trying to get my Donors Choose funded for some (and 21 days left😔). I would love to have a full set for my students to use. Ozobots are the smallestprogrammablee robots and great way for students to use both STEAM and STREAM. With the new Ozobot Evos, they have become such a great social little robot now. Something I have been trying to teach my students this past semester is working in groups and teamwork. While a bit of an uphill challenge, I have been seeing such great progress with my students and Ozobots would be a great way to keep that progress going.
  2. screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-8-26-08-am3D Printer: Also part of my first Donors Choose. Last year, I was able to get a 3D printer on loan for my school and my kiddos just wanted to create one thing after another to see printed. Sadly, do to time and limited supplies, I created my Perler Beads project with them. 3D printing is quickly becoming a growing trend in schools for STEM and STEAM schools and classrooms. It allows a student’s imagination to become real and become problem solvers and innovators. Something I want to give my students access to every day.
  3. screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-8-25-49-amDot & Dash: Being a Tickle Ambassador now and being a large user of drones, Dot and Dash from Wondershop are the next step for both my Kinders and early elementary students (older grades are also a wish). These two bots are just so fun to code, create stories and solve problems and use Gamification in the classroom. I have actually applied for a few grants and contests to bring Dot and Dash to the classroom, but they still remain on the wishlist.
  4. 1587604-o_190usjdss1c5lnj41hg13fq1g7l7-fullLEGO CITY: Yes, LEGOs and more LEGOs, my kids can’t get enough and sadly, our supplies are limited and why I started another Donors Choose for them. Which is not looking so good either right now (next time I’m waiting for more matches before launching). I teach K-8 and no matter how young or how old, my students just love building. Creating stories and using their iPads and Chromebooks to create LEGO stories and STEAM and STEM projects with them.
  5. screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-8-13-23-amTeacher Resource books: You didn’t think everyone on my wish list were robots now did you? Oh no, there are three great books I would love to add to my teacher resources. Those books are: Dive into Learning, Kids Deserve It! and Writing on the Classroom Wall. For months I have heard and read pieces thanks to #Booksnaps and my PLN on twitter about how great these books are and perfect your school. While they will probably find there way into my hands and later to my teachers and students. They are my wish list this year.
  6. 51sx2lnmpal-_ac_us160_Robot Turtles Game: This caught my eye about a month ago, but what a great board game. I have been moving my students with coding this quarter and will once again be doing Hour of Code with classrooms, but I still have students that want to code, but are unsure. Outside of LEGO, Robot Turtles is a great board game to teach students how to code through gamification.
  7. Bee-bots/Mouse Bots: I’ve had my eyes on these guys for a while now both the Bee-bots and the Learning Mouse bots. Both are great for teaching code, learning, PBL and are great from PK to 2nd grade. The Mouse bots are a cheaper alternative that work very similar, but along the lines of Dot and Dash. Able to be code to solve mazes, basic learning strategies and teamwork. Something I would love to bring to my Kinders and younger students, especially SPED.

 

There you have it, the 2016 Christmas Wish list for STEAM. Check them out to see if they are perfect for your classroom.

Leave a Reply

