Bitmoji and Google Drawings

img_3126

Over the last couple of weeks, I have been using Bitmoji in my lessons with my students a bit more. The one thing I love about Bitmoji just like emojis is the wide range you can use them for. However, the last few days I have been using Bitmoji with Google Drawings for some very effective lessons and come up with some great ideas along the way.

bitmoji-action-figureIf you have read my previous posts about using Play like a Pirate by Quinn Rollins  you know I have been using both is LEGO and create your own action figures to heart. I found a great way to use Google Drawings to have students create their own action figures. It’s pretty simple to create an action figure case and import your Bitmoji into the action figure pack.

 

pop-funko-1If you want to take a more recent piece from Quinn is making your own Pop Funko. Which if you don’t know are a type of vinyl big-headed dolls about six inches tall, with big black eyes, a tiny nose, and usually no mouth. You can turn your Bitmoji into a Funko Pop by importing the picture and then using color picker Google Chrome Extension App to match the skin tone. By stretching and compressing the Bitmoji you can make it look just like a Pop. Make some alterations using the various shapes and tools in Google Drawings and you have your own Funko Pop. Take a note from Quinn and having students design Funko Pop! figures as simple biographies of characters they’re learning about in class. Historic figures, great inventors, characters in novels. In my case I made my own Agent Mulder that I can use for the history of the FBI.

 

steam-who-am-i-adobe-sparkYou know how I love to make Infopics and Memes from Bitmoji, and while Bitmoji has it’s own built in Memes (they are funny). You can have students or teachers make up rule posters, scene grabbers and more.

 

 

bitmoji-storyAlice Keeler recently posted on her website on how Matthew Farber author of Gamify your Classroom on how to use Bitmojis on story of Jamestown. You can something similar using Google Drawings, but what is nice I can use the crop tool to cut various Bitmojis and use photo resources like Pixabay to use clip art to make story cards or create my own with the various shape tools in Google Drawings. If I want to go a step farther, I can HyperDoc the various places in my story with the real places for a VR tour and it’s great for students to create geography presentation and history reports.

 

These are only a few classroom ideas and lesson you or your students can create using Bitmoji, Google Drawings along with Google Classroom. Give them a try today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

