Harold & the Purple Crayon inspired my Donors Choose

streampurplecrayon

Just before the school year started, I started a Donors Choose to bring Ozobots and our own Flash Forge 3D printer. Many asked how the project came to life and it was my son discovering Harold and the Purple Crayon. Those who don’t know the story, The protagonist, Harold, is a curious four-year-old boy who, with his purple crayon, has the power to create a world of his own simply by drawing it. He goes on many adventures with his purple crayon creating it. I was talking to one of my students during summer school and they asked if they could do the same when the school year started again. I said, we could but we don’t have any Ozobots and we only have a 3D printer on a partnership. They told me, we have to get them and make our own story and characters and sure enough this donors choose was born. We have until December 10 and I want to try and get it funded sooner so I can introduce the Ozobots and the 3D printer for the Hour of Code this November before they reach our full curriculum in January.

We already are on our way and four of my fellow teachers just had their own Donors Chooses funded and I believe I can get this done for my students. Please consider donating and use the code: LIFTOFF at checkout and your donation can be matched up to $100, but only until Monday. Please, help my students before STEAM Storytellers and move us towards STREAM (Science, Technology, Reading, Engineering, Art and Mathematics).

Leave a Reply

