The Office Remodel Part 1

IMG_0191

The other day I said I was going to start remodeling my office to be more inviting to students and staff alike. While I planned on doing this slowly over the next few weeks. As they say, time waits for no man and I ended up getting an earlier start due to an accident occurring during some regular checks, such as my entire shelf collapsing (don’t worry, I’m OK). So, after a few hours of moving, cataloging, archiving and a few other things here is the start to my remodel.

IMG_02041.  The first plan after getting my shelves back together was moving all the fun stuff to the front so its one of the first things everyone sees when they walk in. The first shelf is what I call the “Play Shelf”, which is based on Play like a Pirate and He’s the Weird Teacher. As you can see, the S.S. #TLAP is front and center with Appy and the App Dice Pirate Crew leading the charge on the shelf. I love using Appy and his crew with my mini green screen that you can see in the opposite corner with my emoji stickers. I love using Green Screen and Chatterpix Kids with the App Dice Pirates. I’m planning on the App Dice Pirate crew sailing into some awesome lessons and project in the fall and a few this summer. Right next to the ship is my box of movie theatre Peanut Butter M&Ms. This was a present from my vice principal and I love to use the box for various lessons from business to history. You can do a lot with an empty box of M&Ms.

Heading to shore a bit, you see my new Piggie Pirate that my son gave me and Shogun, which my brother gave me. I’ve been using Shogun for a few play projects this past school years, but I’m hoping to get him into some LEGO lessons when the school begins in the fall. This Shelf is about 80% finished as I have a few more fun things that I will be adding in the weeks ahead.

2.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next is my Gaming Shelf, as you can see I have this one pretty much set. I have my bucket full of App Dice  and my mini App Dice in their dice box ready to go. Right next to them are my Haiku Dice and my mini 3D print game tokens that I use for both Breakout Edu and some of my gamification projects. Right next to my tokens are my game pip, di and Monopoly House. These were found at three different schools and I have used them in various introduction lessons and Breakout Edu (More on that later). Directly behind them are my Perler Bead box. I have a lot of fun stuff in this box from Mario Brothers Power-up Mushrooms to Tetris pieces. I call it my Box of Perlers. Finally, are my set of Thinking Dice and my folder holder that has various files I use for gamification lessons and projects. I will be adding to it as the year goes on. I am hoping to add a fresh new copy of eXPlore like a Pirate once I am able to buy a new copy since my previous copy was stolen.

3.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Taking a note from Classroom Chef, I am deciding to make a “Math is Fun” Shelf. For years, Math has not been my friend, no its true even though many wonder how I make so many math lessons using tech or STEAM if Math has been one of the subjects I have struggled with since I was fourth grade and while I have gotten to know some awesome math teachers the last few year. I really haven’t done a full Math theme and I want to change that. The shelf is in early stages, but I have my flip box of Perler Beads that are based on Classroom Chef lessons. Right now I only have a few, but there will be more in the days ahead. I like to move the Peanut Butter M&Ms box on this shelf from the Play Shelf a lot. I actually came up with a ratio lesson with making an 8 bit pixel  picture such as: Link, Mario, Megaman and have students figure out what the ratio of the colors for M&Ms for the images created with it (see, I’m cooking already). Right next to my case is my various manipulates for math in a stack shelf. I have everything from 3D prints to geometric shapes and a few more I am adding in the next few weeks.

 

4. IMG_0429I right now have an empty STEAM shelf, but that will change in a week. This shelf will house all of my STEAM lessons and devices from Spheros to Parrot Drones. I’m also hoping to add some new Ozobots and an Osmo to the shelf a 3D printing flashdrive set for lessons later this fall.

 

 

 

 

5.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My last shelf is my Breakout Edu shelf. This is completely dedicated to Breakout Edu from lock boxes, to locks to various clues and items. I am planning a lot of brand new Breakout Edu for both staff and students for the new school year and I want to leave things open for new items and lock boxes. It’s pretty straight forward and works the best, as it contains the heaviest items for the shelving unit. Remember, balance is the key.

6. IMG_0192Something I really wanted to look nice and organize was all my tech and being the Manger of Campus Technology (basically director). I have to have access from everything from charge chords to power hubs, I need it close by. What I did differently is that I moved it to the back. Something that was always noticed by staff and students went they came into my office was the fact they saw all the tech first. It was when they would go farther in and see all my fun stuff on the other side they were in awe. So, I completely switched the shelves around and put my supplies out of sight and out of mind. I also have a set up for extra items that are either damaged or in the process of being set up. This way I don’t have to worry about anything going missing and can find it in a moments notice when I need to grab it fast. Each box is labeled and set up from remotes and discs to chargers and connectors from lightest to heaviest. I like to stay organized.

7.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have a set up station next to my desk, but its just looked so… blah over the last year. So, I decided to rearrange a few things, add in some stickers and my tetris perler beads to the cart and before I knew it I have a nice little station for set up and also looks like a lot fun. I also like using the tetris pieces for a few lesson ideas when time allows. I am actually going to be adding a lot more to this cart in the weeks ahead. What am I adding? You’ll see.

8. IMG_0193Finally, for at least now. Is my desk, I really didn’t do much outside of reorganizing a few items and adding some new inspirational messages to my desk. As we know, we all have good days and bad days when it comes to teaching, but I have learned that when you have messages of inspiration and more around you, it really makes you day better. I still keep my laptop centered, but I keep my iPad very close by on its stand and I have a new area open up next to me for my work chromebook. I also like to keep my various office supplies and a few of my desk collectibles.

 

This is only the first stage of my remodel and I have a long way to go before I have everything just the way I want it, but right now. It’s off to a great start and I welcome any suggestions from everyone as I continue on this journey.

 

Leave a Reply

