Infopic Vs Memes

Hello Everyone,

Welcome to the month of March, the month where Spring begins, the weather starts to take an upswing and my birthday (March 1st). With all the lessons and projects I have been doing lately, especially Build like a Pirate. I thought I would turn things down a bit and look at a great debate going on in classrooms right now. What is the difference between an Infopic and a Memes? An infopic is a photo with text layered on top that is designed to communicate a message. The message might be a summary, quote, definition, notes, data, weblink, hashtag, or other information. A meme, a humorous image, video, piece of text, etc. that is copied (often with slight variations) and spread rapidly by Internet users, but has an underlining message in it that you can relate to.

   Infopics and Memes are being used in classrooms more regularly, but many times students
and teachers don’t know what counts as one or even how to use it properly in the classroom. Here are a few examples and how you can use them in the classroom.

  1. Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 8.22.38 AMHere I have three of my favorite robot masters that I made with my perler beads in their posses with the message: “I play old school.” The term applies that while I play in the classroom with my lessons, I do it along the lines of classic 8 bit games, in this case, Megaman. This is a meme as it goes with the humorous piece of text relating to a set of characters that are almost 30 years old, but was a popular video game and still is. I’m using this meme as an introduction to use Bloxels with my students as they see how the characters are made up in their 8 bit/13 bit. Students can then use the meme to create their STREAM Bloxels project for an upcoming GameJam session.

2. IMG_5317The next is an Infopic and in this case an extreme infopic since I used Wordfoto to transform the App design for Paper by 53 into a type of wordcloud about what makes the App so great. Especially, for sketchnotes. The picture is overlayed with text and in this case, the text actually makes up the image. I used this for a Book Creator project with my students just before I left CLS this past fall. Students took their favorite Apps and created a Infopic book of why they love these Apps and what they can do.

3. Other ideas that you an use Infopics or Memes for are: Icebreakers, Classroom Rules and Policies, Bell Ringers, Inspiration and Creativity projects. There are many ways to use them. I highly recommend check out Tony Vincent’s vidcast on Infopics and checking out Tracee Orman’s Classroom Blog on Memes for more ways you can use them in the classroom. There are also several resources on Educlipper, Pinterest and Teacher Memes. Check back all this month as I do various Infopic and Meme classroom ideas, lessons and projects that will make you go:

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 8.47.53 AM

 

Leave a Reply

