The Backwards Smash

Have you ever looked at something and either gone: “How did they do that?” or “What is the end goal?” That’s called Backwards Planning or Mapping. Its when you see the end goal in mind and then work your way backwards in designing a lesson or project. As you move backwards you ask the questions: “What do I want them to learn?” “What do I want them to understand?” “How will I do it?” “How will I create something that is my own?” There is a wonderful TeDx talk on it. As we all know, I love App Smashing because it allows students to create using various tools in new an exciting ways. In the above video, I talk about how to Backwards Smash that let’s students think backwards and create something powerful as they move forward in their learning and understanding.

Leave a Reply

