The App Dice Olympics


The school year has come to an end once again and with it the end of my Genius Hours for my students. After many sad faces, I decided to do a type of classroom olympics with my students. Many years ago when I was in elementary, three of my teaches loved to do a type of academic olympics with my classes. They would do everything from sentence games to vocabulary relays. My fifth grade teacher, Mrs. Larson who I will be talking a lot about in my book next year, Dice UP the Classroom focused on our book report themes over the course of the school year. We had puppet shows, hanging mobiles and yes, even letters to friends. Funny how twenty-five years later her classroom lessons stuck with me the most. So, I held the first App Dice Olympics. The App Dice Olympics were centered around my various App Dice and made into games between the classrooms where the final two would compete for the Platinum Minecraft Torch. Here is how it went:

1. I came into the classroom holding the Minecraft Torch high and went around the room before I passed the torch to the classroom teacher. The teacher would then hold it up and do a little speech before igniting my App Dice Star (We opened it up the kids loved it). The best speech came from Mrs. Guzzardo saying: “I here by open the first App Dice Olympics, now let’s roll out fun!”

2. The first game was Fishing for Apps. I had a large canister that held my App Dice sides and students picked one App and if they didn’t know it. I gave them a quick little over view. I then rolled my master App Dice, a 30 sided Di nicknamed: “Ike”. Once I called out the App Dice side and the first student who could give a App Smash for their own lesson would moved on to the next round and they had to hold on to the App they first were given.

3. In the next round the students who didn’t make it out of the first round had to choose one of my App Cards and give a subject. The students that made it to round two had to come up with the lesson using the two Apps they were given. I had two students who thought outside the box and gave me a way to not only App Smash the two but then how they could present it. The students who made it to the next round had to take both the card and the original App from the first round to Battle App.

4. During Battle App, which is similar to Battle Ship, the students who made it to round 3 placed their Apps on the battle grid and then the students who didn’t make it to round 3 coordinated attacks to knock out two of the remaining players.

5. In round 4, the remaining students had to play Tic Tac Smash. The game is played like Tic Tac Toe the difference is, once three Apps were placed in a row, the game had to stop and an App Smash and lesson had to be created using those three Apps. The trick was to stay in the game as long as you could. Two of my students figured out how to play on their strengths by ending the game placing one of their Apps in line with the others to make lessons they knew they could make from previous Genius Hours. For the final round to determine who moved on to round 5. I rolled an App Dice and placed the selected App on the grid to dice things up.

6. In the round 5, there was a quick game of Appification, which is a large chess board made out of Apps and two dice that have the various chess pieces on it. When the chess dice were rolled the piece that came up had to be placed on the board and then moved through a set of Apps to make a full classroom lesson. An example would be the Rook coming up and one student did a smash using Google Classroom, Notability, Paper by 53, Stick Around and Explain Everything. They made a lesson where an assignment was given in Google Classroom to listen to a lecture and take audio and regular notes in Notability. Then create Sketchnotes in Paper and then use those sketchnotes to make a puzzle in Stick Around and finally have an introduction in Explain Everything with Stick Around and then both uploaded back to the Google Classroom. The final two when on to the final round.

7. In the final round, the remaining two students battled in Fisticuffs using the Enchantium augmented reality App on my TLAP box. The battle got tuff and my student were so into strategy to be the victor while the rest of the class was cheering for one student or the other.

In the end, one winner emerged and won the Minecraft Torch and then I closed up the games until next year. So many of my students wanted to play again but an hour goes by fast. What’s even better is I had the classroom teachers take note of all the lessons the students created to use in next year’s classroom lessons. What a great time by all and I know many of my students who want to take home two torches next year but next year, I’ll have some Minecraft: Silver, Gold and Diamond blocks for them to win.

Leave a Reply

