13 Lucky Days for Small Hope Left

Screen Shot 2015-04-03 at 7.08.58 AM
Today marks thirteen days before the Kickstarter campaign for Small Hope ends. Or as my parents and in-laws say: “Lucky 13.” As of today in order for the project to succeed we (my artist and myself) still need $1,955 to make funding. That is a HUGE gap left to overcome especially this late in the game. When a kickstarter project has only met a little over 25% of funding with less than two weeks to go. They only have a 12% chance of meeting their goal. I’ve seen it first hand happened and I mean where all of a sudden $3K came in in less than twenty minutes or over 7K came in the last 12 hours. There is just one problem with them and me. There were a few well connected people who backed their books and then shared to help support the book too. When that happens, there was an explosion of backers. I’m not talking about people who were putting in $50 or more dollars I’m talking several who were just putting in two dollars. Even putting in $2 by many can make all the difference for a project.
Over the last couple of weeks since I launched Small Hope I have been flooded with many other things from revisions to my candidacy exam for my dissertation. To bills I just really didn’t need right now considering my wife being unemployed for a year now and the fact we have only one car that is sucking money out of us for replacement tires and repairs. Plus a loan we or I should say I am paying back for the next two years so we stay on top of things. I also couldn’t of planned on former supporters for My Life as a Comic Book Reader having costly repairs and trips coming up after taxes. Not to mention the tornados that hit the area a week ago. I gave to them too and only could do so much, the same with my two friends who have launched their own Kickstarters this last week who supported me for own projects. I had to give back. Yeah, it seems Lucky 13 has kind of hit hard and it looks like for Small Hope it won’t be so lucky. It doesn’t mean I’m giving up, no I have a back up plan but its going to take a few months to get it going and Destiny and I are going to work with it. However, it won’t put Small Hope out in the world the way I believe it should be for readers.
Wayne Gretzky said: “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” I took my shot and while many others try again, this is one that when the time comes. If it isn’t successful, I’m not going to try again, I’m just going to pick up the pieces and move on. What I have been doing since 2008, you just have to pick up the pieces, move on and rebuild from there. I want to thank everyone who has supported Small Hope since Day 1 and continues to support the project. I would have never gotten this far without you.

Leave a Reply

