Tech like a Pirate and be like Michelangelo, the artist

IMG_4015

There is an old saying: “You have to look at the world upside down to see it in a new perspective.” But have you ever tried looking at the world while laying on your back? Did you know that when the Renaissance artist, Michelangelo painted the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel he had to do it while lying on his back. A few days ago, I read about a teacher who did this to help with students’ motor skills with drawing underneath their desks with a pencil. I thought that was a great Picasso Hook but I wanted to take it a step farther. Here is a great Teach Like a Pirate lesson that you can do with your students.

1. Taking my iPad I opened up Paper by 53 and slid underneath my dining room table. I then held my iPad up and listened. I heard my son, Tyler watching his shows on Netflix. I felt the heat from my floor vent and I saw our snow people looking at the door.

2. I started creating a sketch note story as I laid on my back and then I heard a funny sound. I realized that it was our ice maker. It was humming because the ice tray was full, so I needed to empty it later. Before I knew it, ten minutes had passed and I had a full digital sketch note.

3 From there, I decided to tell a story about being Mr. Mom and how I had to get the house organized for Christmas and getting lunch ready. It was a great Story Telling Hook that I created using my surroundings and my senses.

4. Give this a try in your classroom. Have students get under their desks and create a story from their surroundings and then have them their stories they have created. They can use tech or not, either way its a great way to Teach like a Pirate.

Leave a Reply

