Its a lute, its music, its a Mozart Hook

Screen Shot 2014-12-22 at 8.43.46 AM

With Christmas only a few days away, I wanted to get in another Tech like a Pirate lesson in before the busy weekend gets here. Above is a lute that my in-laws picked up back in the mid 70s. This hung in their old house for over 25 years. I was told by my mother-in-law and wife the number of people who would enter their house and play the chords on the lute. So much that one of the strings broke and was repaired but then in early 2000, the lute was taken down and put in storage until my wife and I moved into our home in 2013. The lute now stands in our house and every time someone comes to visit, the lute gets played, especially by my own son and his friends. Loving the story behind it and holding my iPad I came up with a great project with it.

1. After telling the story of the lute, I have students look up on their Timelines Eon App on what happened in history from 1972 to 2000. The students then have to research what music was popular during those days.

2. Next, students open up Garageband or similar music creation App and then have to create their own songs based on those genres.

3. Save and upload to our Google Classroom Folder and we then go over each of the songs.

4 Next, we play Top 40 and vote on which songs would have been in the Top 40 and what place they could have been in.

This teaches research, history, music creation and more. Give it a try today.

Leave a Reply

