Rethink Math Homework as Opportunity not Chore

TEaCHitivity

image6

I rarely get the chance to blog about math so I’m very grateful for these #TalkMath chats that inspire me to share math ideas! Tonight’s chat is about homework in math which I think is a fabulous topic to talk about as we begin a new year.

Like many teachers, math homework is something we always wish to change for obvious reasons but never know exactly how. After all, people always say practice makes perfect, so worksheets seem to make sense. Except, my kids hate them and I hate looking at them. A part of me thinks math homework is the reason school created “homework passes” – or from a child’s perspective, the “best day ever”.

This past year, I really wanted to rethink the meaning and purpose behind what a student should do at home after school. For me, math homework is time consuming to grade not to mention limited in providing me information…

View original post 955 more words

Leave a Reply

