My Top 10 Ways to Use Stick Around

 

  Hello Everyone,

 

 Sorry about the delays getting around to my Top 10 Ways of using Stick Around in the Classroom. Teacher Work Week you know. So, here is my Top 10 in no particular order.

 

1. Scavenger Hunt

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.13.19 AM One of my favorite activities to do with Stick Around. You can set up Scavenger Hunts with the Puzzle Creation App by having students assemble pictures or clues on their iPads. Once they have solved the puzzle, they will see clues that lead them to their next adjective. Its a great activity that promotes thinking skills and creation.

 

 

2. Daily 5

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.09.58 AM Most of my students love using Stick Around for Daily 5 work. They can never get enough of using Stick Around for Word Work. Their favorite so far has been creating the Word Color Butterfly. The layout of a Butterfly that you have to complete its wings by putting the various color stickers in order and completely the Butterfly.

 

 

3. App Bracelet

  Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.14.35 AMTwo of my Junior Tech Kids came up with this idea using the Scrabble Bracelet idea on Pinterest. They put together their favorite Apps on a hand made bracelet and use the bracelet to create their projects with it. Every time they love using Stick Around with a corresponding App for a great App Smash.

 

 

 

4. Tech Smash

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.11.25 AMWhat is a Tech Smash you might ask? Its when you use more than one device to use together to create one amazing lesson. One that we wanted to use more was showing how students put together their Stick Around Puzzles in real time. We have a student wear a pair of Google Glass and live record as they assemble their puzzles. This shows their thinking skills in real time and how they complete their objectives. Give it a try Google Glass users.

 

5. App Dice

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.12.43 AMEveryone knows that when I started using App Dice for the first time, Stick Around always seem to find a way of coming up all the time. My favorite has been rolling the App Dice with Stick Around as the main App to use and seeing all the types of combinations I or my teachers or students come up with. Can you do Stick Around with Stick Around and Stick Around? Sure, you can use a hyperlink to bridge some of the stickers to lead you to another Stick Around download on Google Drive or Dropbox or even Box. You can even have it where there is a video of the final assembling of all of your Stick Around Puzzles to see if you can put them together faster than the instructor.

 

6. Shapes with Shapes

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.10.40 AMLove using Stick Around when teacher students Shapes from 2D to 3D. I already have requests for this school year to come in and co-teach several classes on everything shapes. From Advance Geometry to basic shapes, I love using Stick Around to teach shapes and dimensions.

 

 

 

 

7. App Smashes

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.10.08 AMSimilar to my App Dice Rolls but I have yet to find an App I could combine Stick Around with. There are so many Apps out there and no matter what. Stick Around can be used with all of them, it just takes creativity.

 

 

8. Minecraft It

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.14.09 AMWait! Stick Around with Minecraft? How is that possible? Well, actually its very simple. Students use Stick Around to complete their puzzles assigned to them. Then, they have to recreate the assembly of that puzzle in Minecraft Edu. This teachers team work and community building. As we know every student learns differently but any student can be part of a team. Have them assemble a puzzle on a community park and then have them build that same park inside Minecraft.

 

 

9. Sentence Structure

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 8.10.56 AMThis is not my original idea but I love seeing teachers and students creating Stick Around puzzles on assembling correct grammar and mechanics. Every time I see this I wish so hard this would have been around when I was in grade school. While math was my hardest subject, I use to hate writing because I felt I could never understand the correct way to assemble sentences. When I see students now frustrated and then use a Stick Around puzzle to show them the differences between interjections and questions and how to properly use a comma or colon. It just makes me smile.

 

10.  Sharing

 Ch5demo3Stick Around is a social network in itself online from Twitter to wikis. I love see what other educators or students create and share with the learning community. I just want to create and share my works even more online, when you share learning with others we all come together in amazing ways. 

Leave a Reply

