Cleaning up your Twitter

Unknown

Greetings everyone,

I hope everyone has had a great weekend. As we all know the ISTE is happening as we speak in Atlanta, Georgia this week and one of the first announcements was that educators are the main users of Twitter. I found that kind of ironic since Twitter originally began as an education social network and then blossomed from there. I remember signing up for Twitter in late 2008 after I had started a podcast with a few of my online friends. At first, I was going to use Twitter as an out let for my old blog and some of my comic collections and a few other entertainment resources as most blogs were six years ago. At least with my interests at that time. I usually ended up following pretty much anyone who had my interests or were professionals in the entertainment field. That started changing in 2011 when I finished my Master’s in Instructional Technology. I started using Twitter as an online resource with other educators and before I knew it my followings started increasing. This past weekend I just passed the 1,155 mark. Two years ago when I started my Technology Facilitator position at CLS my followers were just 350 at the time. Amazing how much can change in two years once you start getting your foundations on why you use Twitter instead of what movie or how your guinea pigs are the cutest things in the world.
However, as much as I use Twitter on a regular basis these days with Google+ starting to follow in suit with my Facebook. I hit something that most people eventually hit on Twitter, your limit. Yes, unless you have over 5,000 followers or more you tend to hit your cap on following people on Twitter at 2,000 or just a little over that number depending on how many followers you currently have. So, the last couple of days I decided to clean up my Twitter followers and feed. I started from the top and worked my way to my original followers. I discovered that many profiles were almost inactive on Twitter for about two years. If that wasn’t a sign that those people hadn’t moved on or just lost interest in their Twitter, I don’t know what is. I did some research a couple months ago that pointed that if users of Twitter didn’t use their accounts in about six months then those users had moved on. Of course there are always the problem of seeing you have followers that you might have instinctively started following as a result and sometimes, those followers might be spammers or have less… reputable profiles (I had to unfollow and block 4 last year myself). So, with all the main factors in front of me I ended up cleaning out almost 50 followers as result. Dropped my cap limit down significantly. Then I discovered something else, some of the people or groups I was following really didn’t need to be follow.
Groups like Eduexame, Nearpod and more which are some of my favorite groups to follow have help accounts on Twitter. They are great to contact when you are having issues with their services but they don’t need to be followed. There were also two accounts that are used just for chat and it says on their profiles: “Don’t follow, this is for chatter means only.” Well, that wasn’t really smart and cleared out two more right there. After that, it came down to who do you believe you should follow and who you shouldn’t follow. So, I ended up unfollowing ten followers because I realized they were talking about mowing their lawns more than about education or topics that I could relate too or wanted to know more about or share my own resources. After that, just fast forward an hour and I had cleared out over a 145 followers and with that started following people who did matter in my field. I don’t follow everyone that follows me due to cap limits. However, when you have resources and posts that really grab my interest then I’m going to follow you without question. For those who I cleared out this weekend, I’m sorry and I hope those who moved on are doing great things, I’ll miss you, trust me. To all my new followers welcome and I can’t wait to see what we can share together.

Leave a Reply

